Senate President; Lawan Appoints Standing Committees

Senate President ,Senator Ahmad Lawan has appointed some senators into key positions as chairmen of standing committees, bringing the number of standing committees to sixty nine. 

In the list released by Lawan , Senator Ibikunle Amosun emerged as Chairman of Senate Committee on Capital Market, Adeola Olamilekan (Finance).

Others are  Jubril Barau (Appropriations), Rochas Okorocha (Culture and Tourism), Dino Melaye (Aviation), Remi Tinubu (Communication), Mohammed Ndume (Army), Aliyu Wammako (Defence).Sam Egwu (Housing), Kashim Shetima (Interior), Kabiru Gaya(INEC),  James Manager (Gas Resources) and Matthew Urogbide (Public Account).

Senator Dayo Adeyeye chairs the Senate Committee on Media and Publicity.

Lawan announced the committee shortly before he adjourned sitting until 24th September, 2019.

Before announcing the Committees and Special Committees, there was high expectations among Senators and those privy to the activities of the Senate.

The announcement was for Committee Chairmen and their deputies, while the Senate President revealed that Committee membership were still being fine-tuned.

Leave a Reply

You have to agree to the comment policy.

%d bloggers like this: