Ondo Governor Sacks 3 Commissioners for Allegedly Opposing Second Term Bid

Governor of Ondo State, Rotimi Akeredolu has sacked three of his commissioners for allegedly working to, even as he has appointed five other persons into his cabinet.

According to a statement issued by Segun Ajiboye, Chief Press Secretary to the Governor,  those that were sacked are Solagbade Amodeni, Commissioner for Physical Planning and Urban Development; Taofiq Abdusalam, Commissioner for Works and Infrastructure; and Ismaila Olurimisi., Commissioner for Culture.  

In the same vein, the Governor nominated the following for the position of commissioners; Yetunde Adeyanju, Titilayo Adeyemi, Temitayo Oluwatuyi, Fatai Olotu and Akindotun Olubunmi Owanikin.

The three commissioners sacked were reported to have been working against the Governors second term bid, while at the same time, they were purportedly angry with the governor over his failure to provide extra benefits to cabinet members.

Governor Akeredolu announced the dismissal of the three cabinet members at the end of the state Executive Council Meeting held at Government House, Akure, on Monday, the statement noted.

The statement partly read: “As part of the efforts being made to reposition his cabinet for optimum performance, aimed at ensuring that the administration delivers on its mandate to the people, the Governor of Ondo State, Rotimi Akeredolu, has rejigged his cabinet.

Three commissioners were relieved of their duties. They are: Solagbade Amodeni of the Ministry of Physical Planning and Urban Development, Taofiq Abdusalam of the Ministry of Works and Infrastructures and Alhaji Ismaila Olurimisi of the Ministry of Culture.”

The governor thanked the trio for the service to the state and wished them well in their future endeavours.  He also directed them to hand over all government properties in their possession to the permanent secretaries of their ministries.

The statement also announced that Governor Akeredolu has nominated five persons to serve as commissioners. “The governor has therefore nominated the following for the position of commissioners Yetunde Adeyanju, Titilayo Adeyemi, Temitayo Oluwatuyi, Fatai Olotu and Akindotun Olubunmi Owanikin  “The names of the nominees will be forwarded to the state house of assembly for confirmation”.

The governor also named Babatunde Kolawole and Oyebo Aladetan as special advisers. 

Leave a Reply

You have to agree to the comment policy.

%d bloggers like this: